Skip to content
March 6, 2009 / Manju

Keerai Molagutal ~ Spinach in a Lentil – Coconut Gravy

I always thought that I have been blessed to be born and raised in a family that embraced two cultures to the extent that we sometimes had difficulty distinguishing the two. I am talking about the tam-brahm ( Tamil Brahmin) culture, here. Most of the tam-brahm families expereince the same. This is mainly because, when the states of Kerala and Tamilnadu were formed, the province of Travancore was split and most of it ( which is now Thiruvananthapuram) was merged with Cochin, which became part of Kerala and some of it (which is now parts of Kanyakumari)was merged with the then Madras state (now Tamilnadu). A lot of migration took place at this time. Similarly at the Pallakad-Coimbatore belt, there was a migration of similar sort , but towards Palakkad in Kerala, as a result of a famine in Tanjore. ( this is just what I have heard from families and others around, I have not checked for authenticity of this information, so if anyone feels otherwise, pls let me know)

I have lived most of my life in Thiruvananthapuram (capital city of Kerala) and in my family, we speak both malayalam (language of Kerala) and tamil (language of Tamilnadu) and celebrate all festivals from Pongal, Diwali (celebrated mainly in Tamilnadu and not so much in Kerala) to Onam and Vishu as well (festivals of Kerala). Similarly, there was a fusion in the cooking as well. Infact, the tam-brahms have developed a niche fusion cooking of their own. Traditional recipes like Sambhar, Rasama, Pitla, Vatha Kuzhambu, Poricha Kootu etc were combined with some of the cooking styles of the Namboothiris in Kerala , whose traditional recipes were erissery, kalan,olan, mulagushyam etc and an entirely new set of recipes came into being. You will find a lot of them like molagutal, mezhukkupuratti, pulingari, podithuvals, kadhi etc. Even these differ from region to region.

Now that I am married into a very traditional kerala Nair family, I am creating a fusion niche of my own. 😀

Keerai Molagutal (also called Keerai Kootu)



2 cups chopped spinach (I use baby spinach as i had a huge box of it from Costco)
1/2 cup pigeon peas / toor dal ( I sometimes substitute with split moong dal as well)
1 tsp turmeric powder
salt to taste

To grind to a paste:
1/2 cup grated coconut
1/2 tsp cumin seeds
1 green chilli, minced
1/2 tsp urad dal ( skinned and split black lentils)
2 dried red chillies

Roast the urad dal and red chillies in a little oil before grinding them with the rest of the ingredients.

For tempering:
1 tsp canola oil
1/2 tsp mustard seeds
a few curry leaves
1/2 tsp urad dal
1/2 tsp chana dal (yellow split lentils)

Boil the spinach in water with turmeric and salt.( If you want to retain the green colour of spinach, shock it by draining the hot water and running cold water over them. In that case, do not add the turmeric powder to the spinach, add it to the pigeon peas) Pressure cook the pigeon peas and keep aside.

Grind together the coconut, chillies, cumin seeds and dal with a little water to form a paste. In a pan, heat some oil and add the mustard seeds, curry leaves, urad and chana dal. Let the mustard seeds splutter. Add the boiled spinach and dal to it. Stir in the coconut paste as well. Add salt to it and let it simmer for a while till all the ingredients mix together well.

This can be served hot with rice and sambar or rasam or just with plain rice and curd with some mango pickle.

And, yet another award is here for my blog. I dont think I have ever had soo many awards one after the other, ever!! 🙂 This time it is from Akal and Varsha and this is what it says:

“These blogs are exceedingly charming. These kind bloggers aim to find and be friends. They are not interested in self-aggrandizement. Our hope is that when the ribbons of these prizes are cut, even more friendships are propagated.”
It also says : “Please give more attention to these writers. Deliver this award to eight bloggers who must choose eight more and include this cleverly-written text into the body of their award.”

Ok, so i have included the words, and now I have to choose eight bloggers to pass it on..my-my, this is going to be tough! So, after much thought, I would like to pass these on to :

Rekha – Plantain Leaf
Smitha – Saffron Apron
Natasha – 5 Star Foodie
Danielle – So many cookbooks..so little time
Laavanya – Cookery Corner
Suganya – Tasty Palettes
Asha – Foodies Hope
Cham – Spice Club

Phew, thats 8, isnt it?!! 🙂

33 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Asha / Mar 6 2009 8:53 pm

    Very interesting to read the TN and Kerala division and all that entails. It is in a way nice to have the influence of both cultures. I am so 100% Kannadiga, I don’t have any experience to talk about at all! :DI love Spinach, masala with urad dal sounds goo to me, will make it for sure. Enjoy the awards. Yes! my sidabar is overflowing now too! :DThanks for mine as well. Hugs, have a great weekend! 🙂

  2. Sujatha / Mar 6 2009 8:54 pm

    Thanks for such a fast response in my blog 🙂 Your keerai recipe is very tempting! Sounds so good to have a fusion cooking of tamil and kerala recipes! That should taste divine.. I’m jealous 🙂

  3. Indhu / Mar 6 2009 9:01 pm

    keerai molagoottal is my favourite… I make it at least once a week :)nice historical info… Inspite of being a tam-brahm, I was ignorant of this fact 🙂

  4. Varsha Vipins / Mar 6 2009 10:36 pm

    Oh.. I love this dish u knw..am planning to make it soon..slight difference is I do the tempering at last,so as not to dilute the flavor..But this is easy tho..less cleaning..:D,,Really u r lucky to have grown in a fusion atmosphere..:D..lotsa yummy dishes to taste n know about..:)

  5. Ashwini / Mar 6 2009 10:54 pm

    Nicely written..Spinach dhal looks good..Nice picture..Congrats on the award..

  6. Suparna / Mar 7 2009 2:40 am

    Hi S,Congos on the awards!That was a very interesting write up on Kerala and Tamilnadu history. Spinach curry looks yumm..I too love greens :)TC

  7. Divz / Mar 7 2009 3:35 am

    hey thats good to read abt the tam brahms history..i also make this curry very often..i just love it..

  8. 5 Star Foodie / Mar 7 2009 3:51 am

    How very fascinating to read this history. The dish looks really yummy! Thank you so much for passing me this wonderful award – that’s so nice! I will include it in my next post. Natasha

  9. Preety / Mar 7 2009 5:42 am

    nice read..your dish looks yummy..love the combination of spinach with dal..never tried this way b4

  10. Dershana / Mar 7 2009 6:28 am

    Hi S, yes, I do have a tam-mal background too. But that’s nothing due to the state being divided…my Tam mom and my Mallu dad decided to get married :-)and now am married to a Mal guy too.I love keerai kootu. your’s looks really yummy! The difference in mine is that i do not grind urad into the masala.

  11. rekhas kitchen / Mar 7 2009 8:41 am

    congrats on your award and thanks a lot for sharing it with me yeh nice writup dear I also know little about this story one our family friends they are from pallakad they also celebrate both festivals hummm any way love your keeri kootu recipe will try intresting and looks so yum

  12. Chitra / Mar 7 2009 11:05 am

    i too make keerai kootu ,but its different from urs,will try ur version soon 🙂

  13. Happy cook / Mar 7 2009 1:12 pm

    Looks beautiful, comforting and delicious.

  14. Ramya Bala / Mar 7 2009 2:37 pm

    Yummy recipe..Good one to go with hot rice 🙂

  15. Swapna Pravin / Mar 7 2009 2:43 pm

    Congrag on ur award. Nice click. Very healthy and nutricious dish.

  16. Madhumathi / Mar 7 2009 2:54 pm

    Your write-up is interesting to read..Keerai moolakutal looks great..

  17. Poornima Nair / Mar 7 2009 4:45 pm

    I make this curry quite often, yours looks delicious.

  18. Mangala Bhat / Mar 7 2009 5:50 pm

    hI ..i love this curry. and good to know about tamil brahmin and its very intersting ..Thanks for the recipe

  19. Ranjani / Mar 7 2009 5:58 pm

    What a neat twist on the traditional dal palak…I’m going to try adding coconut milk to this too

  20. Smitha / Mar 8 2009 5:29 am

    Nice to read-up about you.I think the info you have passed on about Kerala and Tamil Nadu is correct because I have heard the same.My parents are from Kerala and I’ve been born and brought up in Coimbatore. So, it’s kind of a culture mix for me too. Cheers on that.As, I read on with your post, I was pleasantly surprised at an award for me. Thank you so much. I’m honored. But now, I have to sweat in selecting only 8 people to pass it on…that sure is some work and thought.Btw, nice recipe too.

  21. Dershana / Mar 8 2009 6:00 am

    and yes, you can add red rice flakes to make aval dosai. in fact I stock only red (matta) rice flakes in my pantry 🙂

  22. Lakshmi / Mar 8 2009 7:14 am

    Hi Manju,Ur keerai molagootal looks very good.I make it quite often too.I dint know abt this tam-bram info.thnx for sharing.

  23. mallurecipes / Mar 8 2009 8:24 pm

    love the spinach dal goes so well with hot rice and pickle

  24. Anonymous / Mar 8 2009 11:37 pm

    I made this today, yummy to the hilt! Added a bit of tamarind, everything else as you made. Thanks for the recipe. i will post it on Wednesday at FH! :)Asha.

  25. Superchef / Mar 9 2009 12:04 am

    Thanks everyone :)Asha – glad you tried it and even more glad that you liked it 🙂 Addition of tamarind will be good..a nice tangy feel..maybe i should try it once 🙂

  26. Lakshmi Venkatesh / Mar 9 2009 9:17 am

    healthy keerai kootu.

  27. Chitra / Mar 9 2009 10:32 am

    Hi superchef,pick ur awards from my blog:)its waiting 4 u:)

  28. Laavanya / Mar 9 2009 2:09 pm

    I love keerai kootu and fusion cooking rocks! 🙂 I also make another version with ginger and pepper and for the longest time thought that was molagootal (incorrectly). Congrats on your award and thank you so much for passing it on to me as well 😀

  29. Vishali / Mar 9 2009 6:46 pm

    Good to know about the cultures…. u are very lucky to inherit from both…and a nice dish too :)Cheers,Vishali

  30. AnuSriram / Mar 9 2009 7:29 pm

    That looks delicious! Molagutal is my favourite…

  31. Usha / Mar 10 2009 1:31 am

    Very interesting post. Molaguttal looks yum, I make mine exactly the same with the exception of the green chilli.

  32. Rumela / Jun 9 2009 4:59 am

    Thanks for the Keerai Molagutal recipe. Last summer when i was in Kerala then i ate them at a party and has been looking for an authentic recipe ever since. Now I will be able to make them myself. Thanks again for shearing your post.

  33. Ruby / Sep 19 2009 12:04 pm

    Minch… I am gonna try this. You used to make this spinach preparation… I think u used to just grind it and put some kaduku…. I miss that a lot…. recipe post cheyyamo?

Leave a comment